Blair Elected SD Beef Council President

Posted: 10/4/2011

For Immediate Release
For more information contact:
Ron Frederick; executive director
605-224-4722   *


PIERRE (October 3, 2011)-Ed Blair, Vale, SD, cattle producer, was elected president of the South Dakota Beef Industry Council (SDBIC) during its annual meeting October 1. Blair, a partner in a family owned business, Blair Brothers Angus, takes leadership of the organization that collects and administers the $1 Beef Checkoff on cattle sold in South Dakota.

First named to the SDBIC Board in 1995 as a representative of the South Dakota Farm Bureau, he takes over the presidency from Merrill Karlen, Oacoma, who completed two one-year terms. Blair has been active on the state and national level for several years, most recently serving as SDBIC vice president. He is a director on the Federation of State Beef Councils, past member of the U.S. Meat Export Federation (USMEF) and past director on the Cattlemen's Beef Board (CBB), acting as chairman and vice chairman of both the CBB's International Marketing and Audit committees.

Karla Pazour, Pukwana beef producer, was elected vice president. Pazour, a representative from the South Dakota CattleWomen, is also one of four SDBIC members serving as a Federation of State Beef Council director. Gary Deering, Sturgis cattle producer, was elected treasurer, and is a representative from the South Dakota Stockgrowers Association. Wayne Tupper, owner of Kimball Livestock Exchange, and a representative of the South Dakota Livestock Auction Market Association, was re-elected as one of three SDBIC members on the USMEF.

New members coming onto the SDBIC board are: Todd Mortenson, Hayes, replacing retiring Merrill Karlen (SD Cattlemen's Association); Julie Holmquist, Reliance, replacing retiring Lisa Dorschner (SD CattleWomen); Justin Tupper, St. Onge, replacing the late Johnny Smith (SD Livestock Auction Market Association); Mike Maher, Isabel, replacing retiring Vaughn Meyer and Ryon Rypkema, Caputa, replacing retiring Debbie Harwood (SD Farmers Union); and VeaBea Thomas, Harrold, replacing retiring Roger Gerdes (SD Beef Breeds Council).


blog comments powered by Disqus