Announcing the New Class of SDARL Candidates

Posted: 7/3/2012


PRESS RELEASE: Monday, July 02, 2012 (For Immediate Release)
Contact: Lori Cope, Executive Director, South Dakota Agriculture and Rural Leadership: 605-216-6178
BROOKINGS, S.D. – The Board of Directors of South Dakota Agriculture & Rural Leadership (SDARL) is pleased to announce the selection of 30 members for Class VII. These 30 individuals will begin their SDARL leadership experience in November 2012. This unique leadership program is designed to provide leadership training to rural residents from farming, ranching, agri-industry and agricultural organizations. The goal is to assist program participants in gaining the vision, knowledge, confidence and commitment necessary to assume leadership roles in South Dakota’s rural communities and agricultural industry. Lori Cope, Executive Director says “it is a very comprehensive agenda combining leadership development with hands on field experience that teaches individuals every aspect of agriculture that South Dakota has to offer.” Participants gain firsthand knowledge of agricultural trends, key issues and the availability for ag development in South Dakota. Participants come away from a SDARL experience better equipped to serve on boards, volunteer within their communities, and increased analytical and strategic planning skills for assessing an ever-changing environment. Throughout the eighteen month program experience, participants will participate in ten in-state seminars, one national study seminar to Washington, DC and a two-week international study seminar. All centered on local, regional, national and international agriculture.
The participants selected for Class VII SDARL experience are: Travis Bunde, Sioux Falls; Erin Bergeleen , Kimball; Kevin Casey, Rapid City; Silvia Christen, Rapid City; Cayla Christiansen, Platte; Lynn A. Deibert, Herreid; Ty Eschenbaum, Pierre; Mike Frey, Claremont; B. Lynn Gordon, Sioux Falls; J.P. Heber, Zell; Alan Hojer, Lake Preston; Nathan Jensen, Beresford; Travis Johnson, Sisseton; Ryan Kjerstad, Wall; Monica Mandernach, Aberdeen; Dawn Nagel, Gettysburg; Kelly Nelson, Sioux Falls; Tracey Walsh, Kimball; Todd Pennings, Watertown; Randall Questad, Baltic; Kari Sanders, Oral; Joe Schefers , Brookings; Kristy Smith, Hitchcock; Ted Smith, Flandreau; Stacey Sorlien, Viborg; Jeff Thompson, Colton; Mike Traxinger, Claremont; Ross Tschetter, Salem; Rebecca Wellenstein, Centerville; Kurt Zuehlke, Britton.
The SDARL program is a Private/Public partnership funded through tuition and sponsorships. To learn more about South Dakota Agriculture and Rural Leadership go to



blog comments powered by Disqus